Patient Guest Post: Initial Impression on the ESP Seal-Tite Suspension Sleeve for a Below the Knee Prosthesis

This is a guest post of a patient of mine that has been wearing a prosthesis for a long time:

My first impression was that it seemed more substantial. It was thicker throughout and had a section of extra support around the knee. I have been wearing it now for about two months and find it to be substantially superior to the sleeves I have used before. I have had no leaks and I attribute that to that extra support around the knee which is where the bending and friction with my socket have always caused leaks.

It seems superior in holding the suction. The feeling that I am securely locked into my socket lasts a long time. When I feel a little “loose” it is a sign that I need to add a sock which when done returns me to full suction. I noted that I seemed to have less of a problem with sweat which I understand is also a result of the better suction.

In short, it is far and away the best sleeve I have experienced and can’t quite imagine what could be any better. One tip I have done that seemed to reduce the wrinkles in the back is actually turning the seem to the inside portion of the leg rather than up the back.

The sleeve is a ESP Seal-Tite Suspension Sleeve.

1 Comment

Filed under Component Reviews, Tips for amputees

One response to “Patient Guest Post: Initial Impression on the ESP Seal-Tite Suspension Sleeve for a Below the Knee Prosthesis

  1. Keith

    I tried these on 2 patients this past month and they are both pretty happy thus far. I was looking for something both durable and comfortable, and for some reason that is a difficult combination. I’m interested to see how they wear long-term.

Leave a Reply

