Guest: Patient Tip for a below the knee suction prosthesis

I just met with a patient that is wearing a suction socket and he has come up with a novel tip to address some of the issues he was having at the top edge of his liner.  He was getting some skin irritation around the top of the liner.  This is a common problem for those that wear a liner with fabric on it because the transition from the liner to the sleeve is square and therefore the sleeve bridges and the skin can get pulled into the gap that is created.  The ideal way to deal with this issue is to some way bevel the liner so the sleeve does not bridge.  My patient said, “…Brent, I have taken care of the skin problem.  I have a long liner and a short liner and alternate the wearing days.”  His solution is simple and I must admit I am a little embarrassed not to have thought of it.  If liners are different lengths that means that the skin is not taking the same pressure every day.  The solution has worked for him and I will now suggest that for any future patient that have a suction socket.

7 Comments

Filed under Prosthetic Technical Tips, Prosthetic Tips, Tips for amputees

7 responses to “Guest: Patient Tip for a below the knee suction prosthesis

  1. Great tip. Never thought of that and I’ve had that problem plenty with my patients. Sometimes the simplest problems are the most difficult to solve Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sometime maybe. I am working on starting my own as we speak but once I get it rolling I might be interested. Maybe I can share some of my blogs topics with this blog. Spread the information out to more people.

  3. It’s on our website http://www.betterlimbs.com in the right had box. We’re beginning with posting our therapy exercises over the next few months and then I have a myriad of misc topics to write about similar to the content on your blog. Mostly patient driven information – wisdom tidbits like your post today. Once I get rolling I should be able to share quite a bit. If you want to post our exercises on your blog just let me know. The more we get them out there the more people we can help.

  4. John B.

    I’ve seen that same problem at the proximal edge of liners when no sleeve was being worn. Even had patients with a row of blisters on the thigh. The problem in those cases seemed to be the transition of tension between the liner and skin; in each case the liner was very tackey. A thin layer of lubricant at the top 1″ of the liner worked well. Alternating long/short liners would have helped, too. I’ve switched to less tackey liners, and haven’t seen the problem for a long time.

Leave a Reply

