Removing an AFO/KAFO cast without a hook blade or Cast Saw?

No matter how you describe a cast saw (I have heard “tickle machine” or “buzz maker”) it will still scare a child and their parents when you turn it on. I have seen someone draw blood (not from a patient) with both a cast saw and a hook blade.

I have been using scissors from MSC for almost three years with great success. Physical Therapists, parents, and patients have given me positive feedback and have stated they feel more comfortable and safe when I use the scissors compared to other methods for cast removal.

Here is a video of me removing a cast:

2 Comments

Filed under Orthotic Technical Tips, Pediatric Orthotic Tips, Useful Tools

2 responses to “Removing an AFO/KAFO cast without a hook blade or Cast Saw?

  1. EVANS KEMBOI

    i have always made pple cry especialy kids on cast removal!thinkinp that i my cut their skin.nyc idea brent.

Leave a Reply

